Nominations open for the 2011 Aurora Awards

The nomination period is now open for the 2011 Aurora Awards, the official awards of the Canadian SF and Fantasy Association.

This year, my first full collection, Chimerascope, is eligible under the category "Related Work." Your support by way of a nomination would be truly appreciated.

Why Nominate Chimerascope?

Fair question. I'm a little biased, but here are some reasons:

  • Chimerascope recently made the final ballot for the national CBC "Bookies" awards for Best Collection, sharing the ballot with the likes of Stieg Larsson, Suzanne Collins, William Gibson, and Robert J. Sawyer
  • It has consistently received rave reviews in Canada and in the US
  • It contains 16 of my best stories, including an Aurora Award winner, a Best New Horror selection, nine Aurora Award finalists, and three Year's Best Fantasy & Horror honourable mentions
  • Still not convinced? Why not check out excerpts from all 16 stories right here

How to Nominate

The nomination process this year involves two steps (but two simple steps, honest):

Step 1: Register here
First, you need to register. This is free and is a one-time process only. In future years, you will not need to register again, and it saves the Aurora volunteers the work each year to validate that you're eligible to nominate and vote. It also allows you to receive updates and info on the Auroras if you wish. All registration information is solely for the use of Aurora voting and will never be shared with other groups.

After you register, you'll receive a confirmation email. Click on the link in the email to be taken back to your registration page, which will now include the link to the nominating page.

Step 2: Nominate here
Once you've registered, you can access the nomination site. Fill in your choices on the ballot. To nominate Chimerascope, page down to the category "RELATED WORKS" and enter the following for the three fields:

Title: Chimerascope
Editor: Douglas Smith
Publisher: ChiZine Publications

Any Canadian citizen (not necessarily living in Canada) or permanent resident may nominate. The nomination period closes April 30, 2010.

Thanks again for any consideration!